An Insight Of The Salary Structure Of An IAS Officer

In this article, we have provided thorough details about the salary package of an IAS officer in India and also the pay scale as per the different rankings.  The Indian Administrative Service is always considered as one of the prestigious careers among the various government sectors in India. Every year around the country, various candidates who aspire to attend the Civil Services Examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). The average IAS salary package tends to attract a huge number of young aspirants to opt for a career in the Civil Services. An IAS officer is responsible for the law and order and general administration of a particular area under his work. Apart from providing a respectful and secure job opportunity, the IAS salary is still considered average in many aspects than the salary of high profile jobs of the private sector. Though the pay scale system of IAS has increased after the 6th pay and 7th pay commission, they still fall back when compared with the private sectors.

The Government Employees are paid as per their position and the associated pay scale. The Government Pay Scale is not the end salary but merely denotes the maximum and minimum salary on offer to the officer for that particular grade. The Pay Scale as per the old pay commissions, included the Grade Pay, DA, HRD and several other benefits. According to the year 2018-2019 and under the 7th Pay Commission, the total pay of an IAS officer includes Basic Pay + DA + HRA + TA.  The 7th pay commission was approved by the cabinet on 26th June 2016 and as per the commission, the basic salary at an entry-level is Rs.56100.  7th Pay Commission discontinued the Pay Band – Grade Pay System which existed before.

The different categories of pay scales and pay bands of an IAS officer as per the old 6th pay commission are provided in the table below:

JUNIOR SCALE 0-4 years Rs.15600-39100 Rs.5400
SENIOR TIME SCALE 4-9 years Rs.15600-39100 Rs.6600
JUNIOR ADMINISTRATIVE GRADE 9years+ Rs.15600-39100 Rs.7600
SELECTION GRADE 13 years+ Rs.37400-67000 Rs.8700
SUPER TIME SCALE 16 years+ Rs.37400-67000 Rs.10000
ABOVE SUPER TIME SCALE 25 years+ Rs.37400-67000 Rs.12000

According to the 7th Pay Commission System, a new pay matrix is introduced where there are 18 different pay levels of Indian Administrative Services categorized as per the different rankings.  The vertical range for each of these 18 levels is meant for fixation of pay by providing annual increment.

The detailed pay levels along with the rankings are provided in the table below:

LEVEL 10 56,100 1-4 years ASP/SDM/ Asst. Commissioner in IRS
LEVEL 11 67,700 5-8 years SP/DM/Deputy Commissioner in IRS
LEVEL 12 78,800 9-12 years SSP/DM (DS in GOS)/Joint Commissioner in IRS
LEVEL 13 1,18,500 13-16 years SSP/DM (Director in Government of India)/Additional Commissioner in IRS
LEVEL 14 1,44,200 16-24 years IG/Commissioner (IAS/IRS)/JS in GOI
LEVEL 15 1,82,200 25-30 years ADG/Additional Secretary in GOI/Principal Secretary in State/ Principal Commissioner in IRS
LEVEL 16 2,05,400 30-33 years Additional Chief Secretary /DG/Chief Commissioner in IRS
LEVEL 17 2,25,000 34-36 years Chief Secretary/DG/Secretary of GOI/ Principal Chief Commissioner in IRS
LEVEL 18 2,50,000 37 years Cabinet Secretary to Government of India

The promotion in the field of IAS takes place after every 4-5 years along with two extra increments of 6% is provided upon reaching the level 11, 12 and13. The salaries of all the IAS officers remain the same after the achievement of level 14.

To know more about the pay matrix system, go to the link provided: Pay matrix of IAS salary


Apart from the basic salary, there are also other perks and facilities provided for an IAS officer. These includes:

  • House Rent Allowances
  • Dearness Allowances
  • Water and electricity bills
  • Office vehicles
  • Pensions

The HRA allowances vary as per the city, will be mostly 24%, 16% and 8% respectively as per 7th Pay Commission norms. Along with these, 7th Pay Commission has also recommended for enhancement of HRA while DA crosses 50% and 100%. As far as Transport Allowance is concerned, there is no increase. However, DA @ 125% has been merged with an existing Transport Allowance. The basic salary at the entry-level increases each year at the rate of 3% while it is fixed at the Cabinet-level. The DA increases at the rate of 0-14% each year at the entry-level.

As mentioned above, the picture depicts the total salary of an IAS officer at an entry-level after the 7th pay commission system.


  • Government accommodation
  • Obtain a CTL every year
  • Free medical care
  • After more than 20 years of service, they get 50% of the last remuneration established by them. This pension continues till death after which, 50% is later transferred to the spouse.


Though after the 7th Pay commission, the IAS salary scale has increased drastically and is attracting many young aspirants, it should not be the sole reason to join the UPSC services. Aspirants should be inclined more towards serving the nation and looking forward to the upbringing of the civil services rather than being attracted by the salary scheme.